• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

JD 450G ? on bottom roller guards

lobo

I dont know what to call them but front and back of main beam where bottom rollers are mounted are guards. They are on the inside and outside of the undercarraige. One of them is missing. How important are these guards? I was looking at some older JD 450g's and they had a long guard from front to back. Looked like it would keep dirt and rocks out but also hold stuff in. I am new to dozers. Thanks lobo

GCC

Occupation
Excavation
they stop debrie from getting inside the links and being crushed againts the sprocket i never use them

lobo

Well that already makes me feel better. Did not look like they where needed. Talked to the guy I bought it from. He said loggers like them because of when doing extream work they help hold tracks on. Especially if track are a little worn. I bought this dozer a month ago and I was getting tired of fixxing things. If I can run, he said especially just in dirt, I would be OK. Good machine I just did not realize how much work in taking off all panels and belly plates (2) I found. Pressure wash, clean and lubricate, maintenence there was to do. He also said cat does not use these rock guards.

GCC

Occupation
Excavation
you can get guards on the cats but there only for protecting the rollers. to keep your track on keep it nice and snug and i do all sorts of land clearing jobs and work in quarrys and just about anything that you use a dozer for and no problems

Deereman