• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

International 7400 4x4 how reliable?

rmllarue91

Occupation
field technician
Window shopping 4x4 medium duty chassis for a service truck. Not ready to buy now just looking down the road. I've been seeing alot of bucket trucks affordable forsale dt 466 or 530 mid 2000s most are autos. I have no experience with medium duty 4x4s are the transfer cases and front axles high maintenance and what options are worth looking for. What I know about Allison's is when they break it's $$ but usually last after. I guess that's what I know about international motors lol. Let me know what you folks think.

rmllarue91

Occupation
field technician
Screenshot_20191212-115222.png like this $20-30k just looking for chassis they seem to cheap for something reliable I know they will have lots of hours

mowingman

Occupation
Retired
Well, I can tell you that you need to avoid any truck with a Navistar Maxxforce diesel engine. Those engines have had terrible problems. Especially with the DEF and Regen systems. They just plain do not run good. Ours have been in for warranty problems many times. Now they are out of warranty and we are stuck with them.

DMiller

Occupation
Cheap "old" Geezer