• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Here's another “how much for this demo?" thread for your consideration

tmc_31

Occupation
Sports Lighting Contractor
Hey guys,

I am estimating a demo on a 600sqft wood frame house in a town about 75 miles from me. The house is very old, probably built in the 50’s or so. It sits over a basement. As I said, it is a wood frame house with stucco on the sides and a shingle roof. I am kind of new to this as I have only demo’ed a couple of small farm buildings (barn & chicken coop). Those were buried in a pit on site. For those demo’s I used a skid steer (NH L190) with a grapple fork which I own. Since this house is over a basement I am considering renting a 3 ton mini ex with a thumb. My best guess is that it will take 2 – 30yd cans and 2 days. The owner has said that he would provide the cans (and I assume, rental, hauling & tipping fees). There won’t be any concrete or brick to load out. In checking with the city, they said that caving in the walls of the basement then backfilling with clean fill was ok as long as there was no organic material in left in the basement.

I am estimating that the turn key job with me paying for everything including the roll offs and dirt for the basement backfill will run about $8000.

If the customer pays for the roll offs and the backfill dirt, the job will run about $3500.

Best I can tell, the cost of a 30 yd roll off is going to be $675 (2 required I think) and the cost of 9 truck loads of dirt to back fill basement will be about $2300.