• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Help identify this leak? (259b3)

jetpilot2112

Hey guys,

I'm new to skid steers and CTLs. Can anyone help me identify this leak? Is this just coming from the planetary? (I'm thinking about buying this CTL and want to know what I'm getting into). It's a 259b3 with 3,400 hrs.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Attachments

• 20220620_114214.jpg
    20220620_114214.jpg
    4 MB · Views: 20

Nige

G..G..G..Granville.........!! Fetch your cloth.
I would say it is coming from the steel face seal between the sprocket and the planetary housing.
The issue concerning the leak is whether it is simply the seal leaking or whether it is a more complex issue of something like a worn bearing. Either way it ought to be repairable. See the attached parts list, the seal is #10 but at a quick glance it looks like everything else is also available separately.

Attachments

• Motor Gp.pdf
    656.3 KB · Views: 3

jetpilot2112

Thanks, Nige!!! :cool:

I would say it is coming from the steel face seal between the sprocket and the planetary housing.
The issue concerning the leak is whether it is simply the seal leaking or whether it is a more complex issue of something like a worn bearing. Either way it ought to be repairable. See the attached parts list, the seal is #10 but at a quick glance it looks like everything else is also available separately.

heymccall

IIRC, that assy does require a press and special tooling to disassemble and reassemble. The duocone seal is leaking.