• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

G'day from Australia......another one of us!

bruce michael

Occupation
Plant Operator/Truck Driver
Hi all
My names Bruce and I work in the Bowen Basin in Central Queensland, Australia.

My background is Government (management). I started out in Queensland Forestry back in 1981 as a Junior and the plant operators used to give me a go on all of the machinery they were using. After a while I got my tickets and thought this is where my career was headed! So wrong...the bosses at the time thought I wasn't "bright" enough to be a plant operator and sent me off to school to become an Ranger. Since that time I have had many jobs in Government such as a TAFE Teacher, Park Ranger and Fire Service Inspector. On days off I used to help out a couple of mates who had graders and diggers just to keep my "eye" in, but all the time the "bug" was still there! Early this tear I sent in my resignation to Government and started driving semi Water Trucks for a new Rail Line in the Bowen Basin (didn't like this at all...too repetitive, although the money was good!) About 6 weeks ago a local contractor up here gave me a start on a body tipper when a day later their grader operator left them and he put me on a Cat 12h 9very steep learning curve!!). Just finished a 25km gravel road maintenance grade in cluding re-sheeting serveral sections of it for a local council...and they loved it!