• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Floating my Snow plow blade, special feet?

schreib

Occupation
farmer, engineer
OK folks I am a newbie on plowing snow with my track loader. Snow plow used only for plowing gravel road, not hard pavement. Trying not to scrape up my road that I spend so much time every year smoothing! ASV, HT80 track loader.

Bought a neighbors old plow, 7 ft wide, has a couple of removable, steel feet under each end, basically round discs. I understand they are best used ONLY when the road is plenty hard and found out why: they gouge furrows in the road in warm weather when the road has partially defrosted. Previous owner said only to use them after the road is frozen hard for a couple of times then take off for most or rest of winter so you can get the blade close. Fine. But when the road softens in late winter SOMETHING else seems to be required because trying to run the blade close to gravel is painful, especially each time I scrape up a bunch making more divots in my road. I hate that! So, I am thinking the way to solve this is build a new pair of shoes shaped like skis so they DO actually float the blade. If I make a tiny keel on them(like a sailboat keel) they will self straighten. Does anyone think this is a useful idea or am I NOT understanding some basic thing about how to plow snow? thanks!

redneckracin

Occupation
Civil Engineer
I think for the soft conditions, only a wheel would not gouge things up like you are describing...

Hobbytime