• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Filter cart?

yucca

I need to start researching for portable filter cart either a build or a purchase. My goal is to get the particle counts down on hundreds of gallons of 35.00 a gallon oil spread out in different sumps. Most of the sumps are 70-90 gallon range.

I have experience with a CAT built bypass filter cart with a previous employer. But it was time consuming. I want to clean up oil at a much faster more efficient rate.

Anyone have leads/experience with already made systems? Photos of custom made units? Ideas?

icestationzebra

I have some experience, built one and bought one.

What kind of oil?
AW, hydraulic, etc.?
Thickest viscosity?
Conventional or synthetic?
What is your particle count goal?
How much time do you want to spend actually filtering? To go faster you will need larger filters, which will be a problem if you start switching oil types.

ISZ

sheepfoot

We have a parker unit at work, we bought it from grainger several years ago. The unit has the two filters suction and return, 10 micron or better is what we try for. The filters can also be picked up there as well at differant spec's. We go thru some filters and they are not cheap even with the discount. It can be a slow filtering at times due to temp and weight of the oil like said already.

yucca

Thanks for the replies guys. The oil is a light weight hydraulic oil. Syndraulic 46.

Sheepfoot do you all use the Parker often? Is it a pain to keep clean and maintain? Have you used it with the correct filtration to remove moisture?

sheepfoot