• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

DrJim's Intro, by DrJim himself

DrJim

Occupation
General Dentist, including Implant Restorations
I know you're gonna ask, so I'll answer this first: I found HEF while Googling for tips on servicing my Bobcat's spool valves, and was blessed to find HEF and Atco's very well done documentation of the steps required.

I'm a dentist, practicing in Oak Ridge TN for some 30 years now. I've always had some enginneering inclination--Dad was an electrical enginneer who thought he knew most everything. From the time I was walking I was working with Dad, repairing the furnance at the church, "doing brakes" on the family's 1957 Pontiac (always in the gravel driveway, outside in the cold and dark), or trying to make some gadget work that wasn't designed good enough to work.

My excavation days started when I was 3 or 4. I had a metal Tonka high-lift (when did we start calling them "track loaders"?), and I made elaborate systems of roads in the gravel driveway. Only one problem: Dad would come home at quitting time and park the old '57 Pontiac (it was _lavender_, it you can imagine), and ruin my roads. I would throw a fit, and he would just shrug it off and say, "You can build 'em again tomorrow."

In my high school years, I got a job on highway construction--Pellissippi Parkway--working on grade work. After seeing a jack snap on a back dump and watching the truck flip over on its side, I quit begging for that job, and stuck to my job as a shovel operator--the "pine handle" kind, though really probably ash or hickory.