• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Does anyone have experience with Tier 4 final

AECCorp.

I am looking for input from anyone who has experience with tier 4 final equipment. I know tier 3 had its problems but has tier 4 filial resolved any of the early problems? How is the up time? What brands do you have experience with? Thank for your help.

BuMach

I've got some experience with Tier 4 Final from AGCO, they where the first one in the AG business that used to start with Adblue (Ureum?! called in the States)

Tier 4 Final is usely accomplished by the two most common technics,

- engine with DPF (diesel partical filter) and EGR (exhaust gas recurculation)
- engine with Adblue and SCR catalysator
- engine with both the systems

DPF+EGR: the EGR was already on the Tier 3 versions, and they reprogrammed the EGR settings, and with the DPF they can "catch" the little particals.
this DPF will fill it self with the cole particals and then the machine will go in re-generate mode.

The engine will give some more end-injection so it will give more exhaust temperature.
the temperature needs to rise above a certain temperature and then it can start burning these cole particals to even smaller parts and these will pass true the filter and ash will stay behind.
after a couple 1000 hours (4000-7000 is what i hear in the field, depending on engine load etc.) this filter will be filled with ash and then you need to replace it or you need to let it clean out.
this cost around €2500,-, replacing could cost you 2x more...