1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!
  2. ALL NEW MEMBERS READ THIS FIRST!! Thank you for joining Heavy Equipment Forums! If you are new to forums we communicate with "Threads", please search our threads to see if your topic may have already been answered and if not then click "Post New Thread" in the appropriate forum. This will allow all of our members to see your question and give you the best chance to be answered. After you've made a number of posts you will graduate to Full Member status where you'll see a few more privileges. Following these guidelines will help make this the best resource for heavy equipment on the net. Thanks for joining us and I hope you enjoy your stay!!

D6k cat dozer

Discussion in 'Dozers' started by Froman, Dec 2, 2021.

  1. Froman

    Froman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2021
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Claremore
    I’m currently working on a D6k cat dozer with an a/c voltage issue. I am getting no voltage at all to the compressor or pressure switches. However I am getting correct voltage to the ac compressor relay. I have supplied voltage to the compressor and noticed it to be working with correct voltage. Does anyone know where I could check from here?
     
  2. Paul Council

    Paul Council Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2018
    Messages:
    951
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Does the relay work?
    Are you getting power to pole 86 when you turn on the a/c? If you jumper poles 30 and 87 does the compressor turn on? Does pole 85 have ground?
     
    mg2361 likes this.
  3. Froman

    Froman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2021
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Claremore
    I have switched the relays out with the revert fan relay and still have the same issue. I jumped pole 30 and 87 and found the compressor to kick on for the first time. 85 does have ground and 86 does have power
     
  4. Paul Council

    Paul Council Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2018
    Messages:
    951
    Location:
    Somewhere
    If everything you say is true then I would say you have two bad relays. Pole 86 is from the switch. Pole 87 is the load (compressor in this case) Pole 85 is ground and Pole 30 is fused power. Make sure that you have 24v relays.
     
    mg2361 likes this.
  5. Froman

    Froman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2021
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Claremore
    Okay thank you!
     
  6. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    19,286
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville...........!!
    The circuit to pull in the A/C relay comes as a result of the Machine ECM grounding Pin 12 of CONN J2 via wire C510-PL206.
    Terminal 85 of the relay has machine voltage suppiied to it when the key switch is ON.

    upload_2021-12-3_13-45-19.png upload_2021-12-3_13-43-11.png

    I would guess that in order to ground Pin 12 of CONN J2 it would depend on an input signal being received by the ECM from the thermostat at Pin 14 of CONN J1 on wire C509-PL211. Also in the same circuit with the thermostat are the A/C High & Low Pressure Switches.

    It's interesting that Wire C509-PL210 splits into two wires (PL211 & PL212) between CONN 12 and the ECM. One of those wires goes to Pin 14 of the ECM, the other goes to a grounded resistor located right next to the ECM. Not sure what the purpose of that resistor is. See below.

    upload_2021-12-3_13-48-9.png upload_2021-12-3_13-50-45.png
     
    Froman, mg2361 and Paul Council like this.