• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Clark C500 S30 Steering & Side Shift Cylinder Rebuild

Rwhelan80

Occupation
Terrazzo Installer By Profession. Restorationist
Here is a Clark 3000# Forklift. With Serial number 235 2255 2835 The Steering cylinder is leaking out of the ram, as is the side shift one. This was in a very tight spot. I had to remove the four bolts from the cylinder to get the whole assembly out. Or it looked as if I could have removed the counterweight in back or had it 3 feet off the ground. Neither of those methods would have been feasible for me. Was a pretty straight forward removal. Appeared to be leaking for some time, as machine is covered in grease and oil. Cleaning is key. I have removed both cylinders and included pics of them with the numbers showing. I can locate the steering cylinder rebuild kit, I do not know how to rebuild a cylinder like this? Are they similar to the ones with the removable cap like the side shift cylinder? Is anyone familiar with these? Could you share some info on how to go about the rebuild? I can not find one for the side shift cylinder. Does anyone have any suggestions as to how I go about getting a rebuild kit or the Clark rebuild kit numbers? Any help, pointers or suggestions are greatly appreciated. I am looking forward to getting the parts on the way and hopefully installing them next weekend, Depending on the holiday work schedule. Thank You

truck1h.jpg
steeringram1.jpg
steeringram3.jpg
steeringram4.jpg
stercyl1.jpg

Last edited:

Rwhelan80

Occupation
More Pics