• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

cattle driving info please

The Farmboy

Occupation
high school and farming love farming with my dad
is this a fun job in trucking and yes i know its dirty by the way im a farmer ... whats the best truck trailer combinatons any body with pics

Dualie

its a very region specific question. gotta look what works in your area. Also cattle hauling is a very close knit community its not something you just break into without knowing the game

Deerehauler

I wouldn't want any part of hauling cattle.

The stereotypical view of bullracks in our area is that only one of them know where he is supposed to go. They load 6 or 7 pots (doubledeck trailers) and load the smart one last. Then they drive 90 mph one right behind the other as long as it takes to get where they are going, sometimes 800+ miles in one shot. I have seen some of them run oncoming traffic off the road when passing slower moving traffic in their lane.

Granted there are bad examples in every field and there are safe, professional cattle haulers. Even the guys that operate good equipment and do so safely all have stories from the 'old days' when they were running 20+ hours per day for several weeks.