• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Cat Vs. Deere

BCB

I'm new to dozers but i've been around and operated heavy equipment all my life. we are starting to branch out into full size machines and i've only got a few hours on a 650 Deere (loved it!) but i've never spent any time on a Cat dozer this size. I've been asking around and from just about everyone i ask, from a D6 down deer all the way. anybody think the opposite? and what makes the deers so much better?

as for dealer support we have both a large deere and a large cat dealer in the area, so they are pretty much equal in that aspect.

Hans 1

Deere seems to specialize in the small to mid size machine. Up to about the 850 in dozers.

LonestarCobra

Thats a question of personal favorites. Everyone will like one or the other the most for one reason or another. Around here all you see is Cat D6H and D6R. There is alot of John Deeres, but they are 450's and 550's for the most part. Most of our work is oilfield, and farm/ranch. The D6 with a winch or a ripper accounts for 90% of the dozers I see. A good friend of mine had an early 80's JD 550 until 3 years ago. They tried their neighbors new JD 650 and were set on buying one. They then took a D4G out on demo, and ordered one 2 days later. They claim the cab is tighter, and the machine seemed more responsive while operating. Also keep in mind that the after the sale service counts for alot.:guns

LDK

Out with the Deeres, in with the Cats