• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Cat T55C Forklift NO BRAKES

rickreveen

Hello all,

I have searched everywhere and have come up with nothing on this even at the caterpillar site. So a friend bought a building that came with a Cat T55C forklift. It runs great but it has no brakes. I am an auto mechanic looking to fix it for him and have no idea where to start. The brake pedal actuates a rod that goes into what looks to be a valve body on the top of the transmission? I'm wondering if this is a wet brake setup? In the pictures you can see the rod I'm talking about. I put the tags up as well. If anyone can explain the brake system on this model / how to repair them I would be extremely grateful.

Thanks

Attachments

• 001.jpg
    001.jpg
    43.5 KB · Views: 110
  • 002.jpg
    002.jpg
    43.7 KB · Views: 109
  • 003.jpg
    003.jpg
    45.8 KB · Views: 94
  • 004.jpg
    004.jpg
    39.3 KB · Views: 112
  • 005.jpg
    005.jpg
    39.7 KB · Views: 121

lantraxco

I'm no CAT expert but does this have two brake pedals? Typically the left one is called an inching pedal, the linkage to the tranny control declutches the drive so you can rev the motor to lift quickly. Look around there should be one or two cast iron master cylinders there someplace and the wheel brakes should be pretty similar to old style drum brakes, a wheel cylinder and two shoes per wheel. YMMV

Cmark

Unfortunately, technical info on Cat forklifts is on a separate website that you need a dealer login for, and even then the info is pretty scant.

TD24

Occupation
RETIRED (Mostly)