• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Cat 420eit Stabilizer wont go down

justsomedude

Hello all. Hoping for a bit of guidance here as im no expert

I have a Cat 420eit (SN: DAN00662) one of the stabilizer legs wont go down. It is currently up all the way. i have noticed some things that lead me to believe it is something to do with the valve in the valve bank at the rear of the machine.
Observations:
1. the lines from the valve bank to the non working cylinder get warm from just idling the tractor. the lines to the working stabilizer are cold. Pilot lines going to the valve also stay cold

2. there is a sound that sounds like flow is happening without the control being touched.

3. moving the control to put the leg down produces no sound or movement.

3 moving the control to pull the leg up produces sound like the pump is working but no movement (leg is all the way up).

4. i swapped the pilot lines going to the valve bank to see if any changes would happen.
the sounds listed in observation 3 swapped to the other control direction but no movement on the cylinder.

Any idea what i might be looking at or suggestions to look at / try ?

highwayghost

Occupation
Emissions Analyst
Could the cylinder rod have gotten bent and the cylinder is stuck? If you loosen the fittings on the cylinder the cylinder should move.

Vetech63

You could just loosen the lines on your cylinder at both ends, then start it up. If you have pressure with the control in neutral, you have a valve issue (could be pilot or main valve). By your description above, it sounds like you have pressure to one end of the cylinder constantly.

justsomedude