• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Cat 414e skip loaders/landscape loaders...really that bad?

tnc110

I've read a couple reviews saying the cat 414e is terrible to finish grade with. Is this really true? I would be using it to load 95%, grade 5%. And the grading would be long driveways and roads.

Delmer

Grading can also mean landscaping dirt grading, that might be what some people meant in the other thread. I'm a rank amateur when it comes to dirt work. I don't see how anybody could finish grade a long driveway with a skip loader effectively? The way a loader bucket and box blade moves with the wheels makes washboards worse, where the long wheel base of a grader smooths naturally. Something like the wheeled grader attachment in the other thread is the only way I would want to grade with a loader if I was expecting it to look decent.

tnc110

Grading can also mean landscaping dirt grading, that might be what some people meant in the other thread. I'm a rank amateur when it comes to dirt work. I don't see how anybody could finish grade a long driveway with a skip loader effectively? The way a loader bucket and box blade moves with the wheels makes washboards worse, where the long wheel base of a grader smooths naturally. Something like the wheeled grader attachment in the other thread is the only way I would want to grade with a loader if I was expecting it to look decent.