• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Cat 305C - Boom slowly going down when cold

Extra Fubar

Hi everybody!

I've recently purchased a Cat 305C CR 2008 with 4100 hours on it. Overall the excavator seems in pretty good shape and was correctly maintained.

I'm new to this nonetheless and I've noticed that after starting the excavator (only tested on cold temperature so far - like 30-40F), whenever I lift the bucket with the boom, it very slowly drops down. When the excavator has been running for a few minutes (2 to 4), this seems to go away entirely.

What could be wrong? Anything to adjust or check? Anything to worry about?

Thanks guys!

Nige

G..G..G..Granville.........!! Fetch your cloth.
Generally the test for cylinder drift is done with the hydraulic system at normal operating temperature, which would equate to operating the machine for at least 30 mins from cold in ambient temps of 30-40F. If as you say your probem goes away after a short time I would say there is nothing to worry about.

It may be worth your while finding out when the hydraulic oil was last changed and what grade of oil was actually used in it. An oil with too high a viscosity might possibly be the culprit.

Extra Fubar

Hi Nige,
Many thanks for the response - it's really appreciated as I'm slowly learning to work on the machine. I'll try to get in touch with the seller of that machine to know about the hydraulic oil that was used.

Perhaps it would be a good thing nonetheless to start "from scratch" and replace it entirely.

Thanks!

heymccall

I'm leaning toward a sticking load check valve, assuming the boom is equipped as such.