1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!
  2. ALL NEW MEMBERS READ THIS FIRST!! Thank you for joining Heavy Equipment Forums! If you are new to forums we communicate with "Threads", please search our threads to see if your topic may have already been answered and if not then click "Post New Thread" in the appropriate forum. This will allow all of our members to see your question and give you the best chance to be answered. After you've made a number of posts you will graduate to Full Member status where you'll see a few more privileges. Following these guidelines will help make this the best resource for heavy equipment on the net. Thanks for joining us and I hope you enjoy your stay!!

CAT 299D - Engine Fuel Leakage 1 - Error Code 1239-1

Discussion in 'Compact Track/Multi Terrain Loaders' started by Makers Acres, Jan 12, 2021.

  1. Makers Acres

    Makers Acres Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    Occupation:
    Imagineer
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    So last week my 2014 Cat 299D started giving me this error "Engine Fuel Leakage 1 - Error Code 1239-1". I immediately shut the engine down and did a quick inspection. I did not see any traces of leaking fuel, so I started it back up and within a few minutes it started showing the error code again. I was in the middle of grading part of a road, so I had to finish what I was doing so cars could pass. I found that setting it to 50% throttle allowed me to work without showing the error and I continued working for around 20 minutes with no problems. The tank was also about 3/4 full and I was mostly working on level grounds.

    I got the machine back to my house so I could inspect it. I did the following:
    1. Inspected the pre-filter on the electric pump and it looked a little dirty, so I replaced it (About 200 hours on the old filter).
    2. Inspected the Gas cap. I did find that it had a good seal, and I heard air rush past it when I lifted the lever (I thought maybe the tank may have been compromised by an animal or something chewing in it, but it sounds like it is still sealed). I also cleaned the cap, and inspected the orange vent, which seemed to be in good shape.
    3. Checked all over the fuel rail and didn't see any leaks.

    I started it back up and it ran for a few minutes with no load before it started showing the error again. So I ordered a new main fuel filter that goes in the separator and replaced that. That had around 200 hours on it as well and also looked dirty. I started it up and it ran for around 10 minutes at full throttle, and I thought I was in the clear. I started driving it, and it wasn't until I put a bit of a load on it before it showed the error again.

    Just to add a little more info, this did start happening after I refueled the tank (about 30 minutes after refueling). Could this be related to bad fuel? I wouldn't think so because it seemed to run fine at 50%.
    I did replaced the small electric fuel pump about a year ago, so I would not think it was that either. In fact, when I bought the machine, that pump was broken and I had been running the machine for weeks without it and the failed pump only showed up to me when I replaced the fuel filters and realized it was not priming.

    Thanks for any help or advice you can give!
     
  2. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    17,032
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville...........!!
    If you got a rush of air when you opened the tank cap them the breather in the cap is plugged.

    Also if this happened just after refuelling you can bet that it was the fuel or the container the fuel was in that was contaminated. Try draining the accumulated water and sediment from the fuel tank. There will be a procedure in the Manual showing how to do it.
     
    Makers Acres and Simon C like this.
  3. Simon C

    Simon C Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    146
    Occupation:
    Heavy Equipment Mechanic
    Location:
    Rocky Mountain House , AB.
    Did you try putting a breathable rag over the top of the filler neck to see if the problem goes away with the rag just ty-wrapped on. Hopefully the tank is not to o full for the fuel to leak out. It could help to rule out the cap. Simon
     
    Makers Acres likes this.
  4. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    17,032
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville...........!!
    You know that the tank has fuel in it so that rules out Step A below.
    Guess what the 2nd check is in the diagnostic procedure.?

    A. Visually check the fuel level in the fuel tank. Do not rely on the fuel gauge only.
    B. Ensure that the vent in the fuel cap is not filled with debris.
     
    Makers Acres, 512high and Simon C like this.
  5. Makers Acres

    Makers Acres Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    Occupation:
    Imagineer
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Thank you! I have been busy with my real job, but I am going to try this today!
     
  6. Makers Acres

    Makers Acres Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    Occupation:
    Imagineer
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Thank you! I will give this a shot today!
     
  7. Makers Acres

    Makers Acres Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    Occupation:
    Imagineer
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Well, sadly, no luck. I tried running with a rag covering the fuel cap and unfortunately that did not work.
    I was able to run the machine for about 2 hours at half throttle with only 4 restarts needed to clear the error caused by me over loading the machine. I did notice the small filter on the fuel pump was about half air, so I am going to try replacing some of the hose crimps on the lines feeding into the filter just to rule out air leaking in that way.
     
  8. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    17,032
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville...........!!
    Have you looked in the head of the fuel filter(s) to see if there is anything stopped up somewhere by a "plug" of dirt or whatever.? Often when filter elements are changed the bit the filter bolts to is completely ignored. Without a Serial Number it's impossible to say what your particular filter setup might be - there are over 20 different models of 299D.

    Did you try draining water/sediment from the fuel tank.? How did that go.?
     
  9. heymccall

    heymccall Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,533
    Location:
    White Oak, Pa
  10. Simon C

    Simon C Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    146
    Occupation:
    Heavy Equipment Mechanic
    Location:
    Rocky Mountain House , AB.
    You can put air into the tank with a ball of rags over the hole with the blow pipe into the tank and give light air to pressuize the tank about 1 psi. Wear safety glasses while doing it and if you give too much air it will vapourize fuel out the sides of the rag. It takes 2 people to do and any suction line leaks will then leak out between tank and transfer pump. Also do as Heymccall listed and maybe you will have solved it. Please post when you find the solution for the rest of us. Simon
     
  11. Makers Acres

    Makers Acres Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    Occupation:
    Imagineer
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    That is a good call. Since the filters are so low, It is hard to inspect that part, but I will go underwear it and use my phone to inspect it.

    I did replace the clips on the fuel line and I did blow compressed air into the tank from the feed line just to make sure something was not plugging that up.

    I then ran it again and once again was able to use it for about 10 minutes at full power before it started throwing the error code again. I powered it back to 50 percent and worked about another hour only overloading it once to the point of throwing that code and having to restart.

    Do I drain the tank from the feed line? If so, I drained about a gallon out, and I did not see any water in it.

    Thanks for your help!
     
  12. Makers Acres

    Makers Acres Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    Occupation:
    Imagineer
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Thank you for the info dump! I think some of these sensors are pulled pretty tight, I will inspect them in detail this weekend.
     
  13. Makers Acres

    Makers Acres Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    Occupation:
    Imagineer
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Thank you. I will try this after I try heymccall procedures.
     
  14. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    17,032
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville...........!!
    No you don't. It drains from underneath. How exactly depends on the type of installed tank (there are various). To identify the correct procedure needs the S/N of your machine, unless you have an Operation & Maintenance Manual which will show the correct procedure that is applicable to your particular machine.
     
  15. hvguy

    hvguy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    Conroe TX
    Cracks knuckles*

    Let me tell you! I just had this issue last week on my 299d2. The goddamn intake line that goes from the tank to the lift pump pre filter was clogged. You can hear the pump knocking, this means there's suction. I was in a hurry so I just hooked up my air hose to the dump truck and blew the line backwards, it clogged again 30 minutes later, cleared it, and hasn't been back since. But I definitely need to clean the tank.

    Pull the hose and blow on it with your mouth first. Bubbles should be easy.

    That is a generic code that senses that the fuel rail dropped some % below what was commanded. Therefore the main high pressure pump is pulling a vacuum on the "what was supposed to be" pressurized fuel line.

    Hope this helps.
     
  16. Makers Acres

    Makers Acres Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    Occupation:
    Imagineer
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Thank you for the info! Still trying to find my cause, I am going to try and get into the tank hopefully this weekend. I have run it now at about 50% throttle for 4-5 hours so I could finish jobs in progress.
     
  17. heymccall

    heymccall Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,533
    Location:
    White Oak, Pa
    I still don't think you shared a serial number.

    If your machine has one of these
    Screenshot_20210214-050431_Chrome.jpg
    take it off and disassemble it.
    Remove the pump by rotating the black ring ccw, and lift the pump and retaining ring off as a unit. Now verify that there is zero debris blocking any passage in the filter head itself.
     
  18. hvguy

    hvguy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    Conroe TX
    Ah I'd much rather have the old style pump and filter like mccall posted. That one never gave me problems.

    Try blowing the line out back into the tank and reassemble.

    Good luck and get us your serial number!
     
  19. Makers Acres

    Makers Acres Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    Occupation:
    Imagineer
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Oh, I am sorry GTC01014.

    So yesterday I took all the fuel lines off and made sure they were clear all the way to the High Pressure pump on the engine. I also removed both filters and made sure the in/outs on the filter holders were not blocked.

    I blew air back into the tank as well. I did find one of the clamps was a little loose, but it was on the output side of the second filter and was not leaking. This should have been pressurized anyways, so I am not sure that would solve it. I haven't had a chance to run it again yet. I was still going to try and drain the tank, I just need to find something to put all the fuel into.
     
  20. Makers Acres

    Makers Acres Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    Occupation:
    Imagineer
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Thank you, I have the older style Pump and filter.