• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Cat 289D

grk82

Ive never never owned a Cat ctl and dont have much experience with pilot controls, (always used hand and foot controls). Anything i should be worried about with this machine? It has the single flange idlers on it, should i upgrade to triple flange?

Anyone else switch controls, how long did it take to become just as fast and efficient after switching? Ive used pilot before and have no issues moving piles of stone/dirt and pallets but I cant finish grade very well with pilot. I've been using hand and foot controls for 18 years...

Digdeep

I would go with the triple flange. You will get the best ride and if you work on slopes will minimize your risk of throwing a track. You will get used to pilots. The CAT allows you to adjust the sensitivity to your liking.

I've recently demoed a new D series that was fully loaded out- air ride heated seat, back-up camera, etc. One of the things that struck me was the attention that CAT took to the little things like a self priming fuel pump, an A/C system fully integrated into the cab so you don't have to break any seals also making service access under the cab easier, no stacked coolers or condensers, decel pedal feature, throttle smoothing, etc. By comparison it takes two people just to prime a new fuel pump in the new Bobcats if you don't want fuel all over- one to man the bleeder screw and another in the cab turning the key. The fuel filter on the Bobcat is held to the frame with two cheap hose clamps. These are just two small things but it tells a tale.

Last edited:

heymccall