• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Cat 279d code 444-5 no start

First time poster, I’m a diesel tech who’s been out working on a cat 279d. The customer had another person install a new coupling between the motor and hyd pump, after this was done the machine wouldn’t start by the key. I was then called, and let it be known I’m not a CAT fan. I tested every safety switch, they’re all functioning. Tested power to the relay, good. Swapped relays as i know they’re a problem with a non oem relay, no change. I’ve ohmed the green and white wire from the ecm to the relay and they’re good. I hooked my meter to the green signal wire coming from the ecm to the relay, with key on and all safety switches down I’m only getting .14v, now i understand cat uses the relay signal and ground to communicate with the ecm that safety’s are down and it’s good to start. What i don’t know is what that voltage is supposed to read, I’m assuming my ecm is fried on this leg, any insight would be helpful

Chrisso

Occupation
Diesel Mechanic
now i understand cat uses the relay signal and ground to communicate with the ecm that safety’s are down and it’s good to start
Arm bar switches alone are usually a 3 wire switch with common earth (to an ecm pin, not chassis), and two ecm inputs (one NO and one NC for redundancy).

Has to be something silly like an earth. There's a lot of them. Did you just pull the pump to do the coupling or did the engine come out too?

Does it have the monitor screen in the cab? If so any diagnostic codes?