1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!
  2. ALL NEW MEMBERS READ THIS FIRST!! Thank you for joining Heavy Equipment Forums! If you are new to forums we communicate with "Threads", please search our threads to see if your topic may have already been answered and if not then click "Post New Thread" in the appropriate forum. This will allow all of our members to see your question and give you the best chance to be answered. After you've made a number of posts you will graduate to Full Member status where you'll see a few more privileges. Following these guidelines will help make this the best resource for heavy equipment on the net. Thanks for joining us and I hope you enjoy your stay!!

Cat 259d Door sensor issue Fault Code 2471 - 4

Discussion in 'Compact Track/Multi Terrain Loaders' started by briarpatch, Aug 22, 2021.

  1. briarpatch

    briarpatch Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2021
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Abbotsford
    Hi to all

    I was searching for an answer to a couple of issues and came across this forum which helped with other problems but not this one.

    I recently purchased a 2015 Cat 259d with 1150 hours. It had a busted windshield which I replaced, all the parts were there. After the door install the machine runs great except the windshield washer/wiper does not function and the arms could raise with the door open which obviously is not good. Earlier today I got out the manual and located the jumper, this corrected the windshield washer issue but the wiper still did not operate and the lift arms were now locked out. I unplugged the cables put the jumper back in and it worked as before. When I removed the jumper and reconnected no arms and still no wiper, not sure if the wiper is a connected issue or separate.

    A fault code came up and went off before I could review it, so I repeated the process again. This time the fault code remained it is "2471 -4 Cab Door Position Switch Voltage Below Normal"

    I cleaned the sensors and adjusted them no change. I had read that this could be bypassed with magnetic tape so I tried, when I closed the door I got a message "Cab Door Position Switch Voltage Above Normal"

    When I purchased the machine the door parts were in a box and the wiper assembly was in the cab, it was an owner operator who rarely used the machine due to a change in his business practises so it had been like that for a couple of years, the machine had just been serviced and was mainly kept inside.

    Any Ideas

    Thanks
     
  2. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    18,896
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville...........!!
    First up, please post a Serial Number. You are going to need the electrical schematic sooner rather than later by the sounds of it and it's important to get the correct one corresponding to the machine S/N.

    A quick look didn't throw up anything regarding 2471-4. Are you sure it wasn't 2471-3.?

    EDIT: Found 2471-4, just need a Serial Number to makesure it's appropriate.
     
  3. briarpatch

    briarpatch Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2021
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Abbotsford
    Nige we got the 2471 -4 Voltage below normal and when I added a magnet strip 2471 - 3 above normal.

    Do you want me to PM you with the serial #
     
  4. briarpatch

    briarpatch Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2021
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Abbotsford
    Nige we got the 2471 -4 Voltage below normal and when I added a magnet strip 2471 -3 Voltage above normal

    CAT0259DTFTK00829
     
  5. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    18,896
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville...........!!
    The door switch is a two-pole device with a 3rd (common) terminal connected to machine frame ground.
    The ECM has two inputs for the door switch. Conn J1 Pin 54, & Conn J2 Pin 52. It has to simultaneously see ground on one terminal and open circuit on the other. Otherwise it will generate a 2471-3 or -4 Diagnostic Code.

    Here's the troubleshooting for the -4. I'll PM you the electrical schematic
     

    Attached Files:

    Paul Council likes this.
  6. briarpatch

    briarpatch Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2021
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Abbotsford
    Nige

    Thanks for your help tested and the switch turned out to be bad. Replaced and all good.

    Only thing I have to fix now is the wiper. The washer works but no wiper, fuse is good so probably something in the motor.

    Nick
     
    512high likes this.
  7. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    18,896
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville...........!!
    Check the continuity in the wiper wiring first.? You might just get lucky and not have to buy a motor.
     
    512high and mg2361 like this.
  8. briarpatch

    briarpatch Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2021
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Abbotsford
    I have took the motor off and unseized it so just have to put it back together and test out. I thought it would have blown the fuse as it was seized solid, hopefully it works now
     
  9. briarpatch

    briarpatch Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2021
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Abbotsford
    1st have to admit I am better at mechanical than electrical.

    I have taken the readings at the connector where I would hook up the motor

    I have tested all the fuses and all good using a power probe 3.
    Black is a good ground.
    When ignition is off 0.0 reading. brown no reading
    Ignition on 12.1v at grey & green, brown has no reading.

    Not sure what this means, but I am thinking that I should have got a reading on the brown?
     
  10. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    18,896
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville...........!!
    With key ON and the wiper switch in the ON (1st) position at the connection for the wiper motor you should have 12v: -

    1. Between wires 118 Grey & 200 Black.
    2. Between wires 501 Green & 200 Black.
    The 500 Brown wire will only be briefly live while the motor is moving to the "Park" position after the wiper switch has been moved to the OFF position.

    When you move the wiper switch to the second position does the washer pump work.?
     
    mg2361 likes this.
  11. briarpatch

    briarpatch Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2021
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Abbotsford
    1. 12v
    2.12v
    I will recheck the brown wire but that makes sense because I thought I had a reading at 1 point
    Yes the washer pump is working
    I also tried to put power to the motor unit and could not get a response from it

    Thanks

    Nick
     
  12. briarpatch

    briarpatch Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2021
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Abbotsford
    To test the motor I tried in the machine and also on the bench. I attached the ground connection to the black and tested the ground and it was good. I then applied 12v to each of the pins and got nothing. I then attached ground to the motor body and tried again still nothing. The motor and wiper arm connectors are spinning freely by hand.

    The only thing that I did notice there was a thin steel (I think) spring type wire at the top of the armature that did not appear to connect to anywhere, I have never noticed this before on other motors.

    Thanks

    Nick
     
  13. briarpatch

    briarpatch Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2021
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Abbotsford
    Forgot to mention, I also tested continuity of each wire from the connector to the motor.
     
  14. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    18,896
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville...........!!
    To test the motor you need to apply 12v to both pins 3 & 4of the connector, and ground Pin 1.

    upload_2021-9-3_19-30-38.png
     
  15. briarpatch

    briarpatch Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2021
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Abbotsford
    I attached the ground of the power probe to the ground and power to 3 & 4, the motor did nothing no noise no movement. I am thinking that the motor is burnt out?
     
  16. Nige

    Nige Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    18,896
    Location:
    G..G..G..Granville...........!!
    It sounds like the motor is toast.
     
  17. briarpatch

    briarpatch Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2021
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Abbotsford
    Thanks Nige, I will get a new motor