• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Cat 12F electrical question

Onfoot

Occupation
Retired
Appreciating already the collective wisdom and experience that resides in this forum! Especially given my newbie status.

As noted in a previous post, I am a newbie with a 1968 (maybe 1967 according to S/N, 59H498) 12F grader, affectionately known as Hanna. Starting was not a problem until I (foolishly, I now know) followed the instructions on the plate in the cab--leaving Heat on for a full two minutes before trying to crank. When I then went to crank, nothing happened. This led to all kinds of sleuthing--determining that the batteries were fully charged, that no fuses had blown and that the manual breaker switch had not tripped.

If I turned the master power switch off for a bit, then turned it back on, turning the start switch to Heat would produce some rattling in the solenoid relay. I replaced the solenoid relay thinking it might be the problem. But no go. (See attached photos to see all that I am referencing.)

I have wondered about the breaker switch, but if I bridge the two leads, it makes no difference.

However, if I connect the hot lead on the start switch directly to the positive battery terminal, everything works fine--the glow plugs glow (at least enough of them to start the engine--I think one or two might need replacing) and the starter works fine. And, once the old girl is running, I can disconnect the lead between the battery and the start switch and everything seems to be working fine. (Until I need to start her again--whereupon I pull out the alligator clips.)