• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

case 580c engine advice

case 580c engine advice

• how to replace a camshaft

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • rebuild myself or purchase rebuild

Votes: 5 100.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

fred580c

Just got may first backhoe on a barter. After working on it for couple days I found the camshaft is broken flush with the front of the engine where the gear is mounted. There is tooth damage to the camshaft gear teeth which appears to be from the hydry pump (1 1/4") gear on top left. So, my dilemma is that I am not a real mechanic and would like advice as to what to do. I know someone who can replace the camshaft for me but what else should I do while im in there....do buy a rebuild engine to replace it? let him just replace the cam, do I do the lifters/push rods/ pistons etc. Im not sure. also, did the cam break because there was too much force on the hydro pump or what? I will welcome all opinions!

Tinkerer

Also, did the cam break because there was too much force on the hydro pump or what? I will welcome all opinions!

The hydraulic pump should not have caused the camshaft failure. Unless something in the pump is broken and caused it to seize up.