• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

BPI square shooter main boom bleeding out

CarpenterCory

Occupation
general carpenter
Purchased a heavily used BPI square shooter SS-836. It's served me well for its age (1992) but I began having problems with the main boom slowly bleeding out constantly. If the boom is lowered to the ground it will bleed out even when the machine is running or shut off. If its running it stops after you lift the boom to a certain height, so gravity is certainly affecting it. I am not a great mechanic, and an even worse diesel mechanic. I feel like it's a bad valve, stuck open or something? But honestly this thing is like a frankenstein. There are control valves and hoses running everywhere. Just looking for a couple of ideas of where to even start troubleshooting it. Thanks for reading.

Delmer

Please clarify "bleeding out", is this leaking fluid, or is the cylinder slowly dropping on it's own, or both? Is this one cylinder only?

CarpenterCory

Occupation
general carpenter
Also, I'm not opposed to having someone else work on it. BUt I can't get anyone local that I know and somewhat trust to mess with it. And as a rule I hate to take anything to a mechanic I don't know and have no clue what's wrong it. They could tack any extra fees and parts they want on the bill and I couldn't even dispute it.

CarpenterCory

Occupation
general carpenter