• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Bobcat 863 Deutz 1011F Overheating

obleck

Hello everyone, thanks for suggestions on other past topics/

I've picked up a late 90's Bobcat 863F and pretty much fixed up everything except it's overheating. I'm new to this particular engine, but a pretty reasonable amateur mechanic. Some details:

- Deutz 1011F
- Runs okay at low throttle, but temp slowly keeps building under heavier operation to temperature red-line. There is an engine temp overheating light that also turns on.
- It's got about 3300 hrs, runs strong, plenty of power, etc.
- I've pressure washed it extensively, including the drive belts/pulleys/etc, which were all pretty caked
- Oil level reads normal.
- The cooling fan is working, blows strong.
- The radiators look clean, but I'm going to pull the engine oil cooler out entirely to check its backside
- *** When it gets hot, a LOT of oil is weeping out of the fuel injector area at the top of the engine, which is baffling to me.
- I have not been able to check the oil pressure yet, but that's next too.

It would appear that there is a clog somewhere. I think I'm going to drain the oil and see what else I can find. I read somewhere there are three different thermostats that can get clogged. Can anyone chime in on that? The Deutz manual isn't very revealing.

Thanks in advance!

obleck

Here's a shot of the engine from the back of the machine. Oil is weeping from the injectors and valve covers when hot. Could this be a sign of a clog?