• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Bidding a job and specifics

dhutch

I'm looking for advice, opinions or answers to a few questions I have on bidding a job. I want to make sure I'm not cutting my throat by underbidding, but also not overcharging the customer.

I'm a veteran, still doing about the same job that I did on active duty, but now as a government contractor. I've always wanted to own/run a small business doing dozer work, land clearing, etc. So I've started a part-time business doing just that. I work a few hours each day of the week and on Saturday doing small jobs. I currently own a Dresser TD-15C dozer and a 175C track loader, both bought used and repaired to get to a decent level of dependability for working jobs. I also have a '90 Freightliner classic and an older 35-ton lowboy. I'm looking at buying an excavator to do ponds, demo, etc.

For my questions, When I bid a job, I'm building up experience to know how much time it will take to clear an acre or do this or that. But what about moving the equipment to the site? I've been charging a few hundred dollars, depending on the distance, to move the dozer from A to B. Is that how most people/companies are paying for the truck? Or is that cost included in the expense of operating the equipment?

Any help or advice is appreciated as I'm trying to figure out the best means of covering truck expenses.

AzIron

if your asking how do people charge for transport its pretty simple as far as mob in and out you just figure the price you need to have to move that iron