• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Best machines to get into heavy equipment rental?

movedirt

Hi everyone, im a new member and this is my first time posting a question, hope im doing this right...
Long story short, i want to start an equipment rental business. I have been around heavy equipment my whole life (I work in my family business, Expoquip, here in East TN - we sell parts/components/attachments for all makes/models and do some rental business already but its mostly larger machines and it is all government customers). I want to obviously start with something small like a mini ex, compact track loader, skid steer, etc... So I was hoping someone with some experience could give me some guidance as i have a couple questions...

1. What type of machine to start with? I am between a small track loader and a mini ex. I see both in my area daily but not sure if one is more desirable, easier to maintain, can rent for more, etc.
2. What are some of the tougher, "dummy proof" brands i should consider. Obviously being a rental unit they will take a beating so i want something that is difficult to damage.

I have plenty of other questions but for right now i am just wondering about the actual equipment to get started with.
Thanks in advance for any advice you can offer

-Santi

p.s. - I received my father's blessing to try this rental thing on my own for anyone who may be thinking its a conflict of interest lol.

cosmaar1

Hi everyone, im a new member and this is my first time posting a question, hope im doing this right...