• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

automation good?

ironjunkie

I'm new to paver automation, this week I attended a "class" by the Topcon guy. Then we did a little playing with some stone dust through the paver with a 27'? non contact ski with 4 sonic trackers on a Cat AP1000. Of course there was a problem with some wires, we're thinking on the paver (right) side so we couldn't run slope, only grade. I was not impressed. It did not come close to placing the depth that we set it for, keep in mind that this was all done under the eye of the factory rep/service tech. (so it was not us setting it up wrong) and he seemed to be satisfied with the outcome of this way too thin mat of stone dust that we had. It seems that the literature and language in their teaching materials provided, kept highlighting the benefits of the averaging ability of their system, that by nature and design is what the screed will do itself without a bunch of input from an over eager screw/wheel man, is it not? The other guys there at the class that had experience with this system said that they did like it. That same day of this class the Co. re surfaced a 600'+ bridge on the interstate, the local DOT requires an automated paver and the results were similar to our too thin stone dust trials back at the class. The bridge looks bad. I'm sure that there's a time and place for this automation just as there is a tool for every job, but......... what's your story & opinion?

griz

Occupation
equipment technician