1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Anybody ever run a concrete power trowel?

Discussion in 'Shop Talk' started by skata, Jul 6, 2019.

  1. skata

    skata Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    531
    Location:
    midwest
    I bought a new 46 inch multiquip power trowel at auction. the guy bringing it to load with a forklift, dropped the trowel off the pallet it was sitting on( as he was carrying it on the forklift) and it dropped to the ground from a foot or two of height.
    I got it home and tested it on a floor, and there is a slight wobble to the machine as it runs. Is there suppose to be any wobble at all? I've never actually ran a trowel so just wondering.
    One of the trowel blades has a slight bend up on the end. I'm thinking one of the arms bent?
    The guy said he would get me new blades but I'm wondering if that won't fix the issue.
     
  2. Kiwi-truckwit

    Kiwi-truckwit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2016
    Messages:
    226
    Location:
    New Zealand
    I've never run one myself, but watched plenty in operation and they all seemed to have a bit of a wobble to them
     
  3. td14steve

    td14steve Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    east chatham,ny
    They should run flat with no wobble probably did bend something.
     
  4. Tinkerer

    Tinkerer Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,942
    Location:
    On A Riverbank in IL. USA
    I used to own 36" Multi-Quip power trowel. Mine had no wobble when it was running. Yours most likely needs a new trowel arm. Maybe all of them need to be replaced. Look closely at the spider for damage also. That is the bracket the trowel arms are inserted into.
    Do not replace just one blade. They all have to match each other.
     
  5. skata

    skata Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    531
    Location:
    midwest
    Using a micrometer and picking a fixed point on the cage, and then turning the rotor so I could measure the distance from cage to arm end at the same cage point, I'm getting about 2 to 2.5mm variation in height at all arm ends. Is that enough to cause issues?
    And from running it on a wet hard floor, the machine seems to kick a little towards me everytime a certain blade comes around.
     
  6. skata

    skata Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    531
    Location:
    midwest
    That's what I'm afraid of...a bent spider.
     
  7. Tinkerer

    Tinkerer Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,942
    Location:
    On A Riverbank in IL. USA
    I for one cannot offer any help on how much variation is acceptable on the arm ends.
    Did you replace the blades ?
    There should not be any "kick" towards you.
    Mine ran nice and steady. Either in one spot or when it was moving across the slab.
     
  8. john hofer

    john hofer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    Viking alberta, canada
    There should be a constant resistance on control arm/handle at all times.
    You will know if it works or not once you start trolling.
     
  9. skata

    skata Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    531
    Location:
    midwest
    Took the whole blade and spider assembly off. Can see the shaft wobble when spinning. Guy said to bring it back....
     
  10. Tinkerer

    Tinkerer Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,942
    Location:
    On A Riverbank in IL. USA
    Must have been quite drop. Is he going to repair it or refund your money ?
    Engine crankshaft bent ?
     
  11. skata

    skata Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    531
    Location:
    midwest
    He said they would fix it. The shaft is part of the gearbox.. Not engine. It looks like a 1 inch shaft. I figured the arms would have bent first.