• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Any advice on building a stationary engine with PTO?

colson04

Has anyone built or familiar with stationary engines? I've been kicking around an idea for a couple years of fitting a 540/1000 tractor type PTO to a stationary engine for running things like a large wood splitter, PTO generator, wood chipper, forage blower, etc to free up the tractor that would normally be tied up in these instances.

Another reason for doing this is that I have an engine already. My thoughts were to mount the engine on a steel skid made from scrap, mate up an old transmission and clutch assembly and then just select a gear /vary engine RPM to obtain desired PTO speed. Part of the goal is to complete this type of project for $1000 or less. Most of the components I already have, or are old enough to be inexpensive to purchase used.

Any other thoughts or recommendations?

Hobbytime

you can buy an old tractor for the amount of $$ and time your gona spend to build that, and it still wont be portable, unless you have a specific project in mind with space limitations...

kshansen

Occupation
Retired Mechanic in Stone Quarry
you can buy an old tractor for the amount of $$ and time your gona spend to build that, and it still wont be portable, unless you have a specific project in mind with space limitations...
And also if this engine you already have is not equipped with a governor to control the speed you would need to add one.
Like Hobbytime says find a good running old tractor and it will move itself from job to job and pull the generator or log splitter too!

repowerguy

Occupation