• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

All Hail the almighty Case 440 series 3 Skid Steer.

Georgia Iron

Occupation
Concrete building slab and grading contractor
The purpose of this thread is to talk about Case machines likes and dislikes with xt / 400 series machines. If you have one don't be afraid to jump in with your experience good or bad.

So if you keep up with these boards you might know that I have been working with a Case 75xt for the last 8 years and 1000 hrs of personal machine time.

Deciding that it was time for a cab with A/C, I started looking for a replacement. It turns out a local company was willing to trade a Case 440-3 for my 75xt. Of course I had to pay an additional 8k along with it. I got to keep my bucket and the new machine had a brand new set of tires.

Now my 75xt was super clean and it showed and was maintenanced well.
This 440 was let's say an ugly duckling, it was and still is covered with road tar to the point that the hydraulic coupler was stuck. We have been air chiseling asphalt off of it, by the wheel barrows full.

I have work backed up and I need it ready to go yesterday. I got it on Saturday and it's on its first job today Monday. I am writing this on lunch break.

Here she is, on a covered over pool.

20160509_114558.jpg

20160509_114621.jpg

20160508_120742.jpg

20160507_121446.jpg

There is leaving the 75 and taking the 440

Last edited:

Georgia Iron

Occupation
Here are the ENGINE Specs for the 440-3.

Model
Case 445T/M3 diesel, Tier III certified
Type 4-stroke, turbocharged
Cylinders 4
Bore/Stroke 4.1 in x 5.2 in
(104 mm x 132 mm)
Displacement 274 in3 (4.5 L)