• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Advice Sought on Cutting Correct Slope on Hillside Roads

Allan M

Occupation
Semi-retired: Strategic planner/author
I'd like to tap into those experienced operators on this site and get some pointers. I have about 350 hours logged in on my Kubota 6.5 ton excavator (so I'm relatively new at this gig). I've also cut about .75 miles of trail with some wide enough for a 4x4 truck to use and some cutting through heavy trees, brush and on steep hillsides. I seem to have great difficulty cutting the correct slope--sloping the road toward the uphill side to prevent water damage in heavy rain. I'll need to go back and finish cut all of the work that I have done thus far in order to get the correct slope.IMG_1865.jpeg

I'm curious about the tips and techniques that experienced operators use in order to cut a correct slope toward the hill. Input would be appreciated. As you can see in this pic the road is slightly sloped toward the downside of the hill. It seems as though I can't cut it right the first time.

Thanks. Allan

CM1995

Administrator
Occupation
Running what I brung and taking what I win
How much of the right side of the road in the pic is fill and how much is on cut?

Allan M

Occupation