• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

a/c equipment questions

Mike L

Occupation
Self employed field mechanic
I've always done a/c work with a robinair machine which took a lot of the work out of fixing a/c. I'm now looking at buying a vacuum pump and gauges for the service truck. Is a 4 cfm 1/3hp pump big enough? also do you guys use a scale and a tank of r-134a or just the 12 oz cans? any recommendations on equipment? I've seen gauges from $39.95 to 300. don't mind spending the dough I just don't want to waste it. thanks

and yes I know its February, not july :D

monster76

Occupation
Contractor
im no expert but i when i use a vacuum pump i check to see if it could make enough vacuum to boil water at room temp. not sure if it that big of deal but the way i see it if it boils water at room temp them it should be able to pull the moisture out of the system more efficiently my guages are from napa they were like 100 and i have no complaints thus far

ohiofleet

I do a lot of a/c work 4 cfm will be plenty and I use a tank and scales its to much trouble to haul a bunch of cans

nowing75

I got lucky and found a vacuum pump at auction for $5. I don't have a scale just guess for now but I should get one. I think I got my Gage's from napa about $100. A lazer tem gun helps for trouble shooting.

Shimmy1