• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

955L Flexible Drive Coupling Question About Replacement

rnexus

There's 1 or 2 cracked flexible drive coupling on my 85J7889 955L 3304 PC. I was wondering if they need to be replaced now. I don't notice any out of the ordinary vibrations, but I'm still learning about the machine. When reinstalling, do they need to be checked for alignment, or does the alignment only rely on the engine mount shims?
Thanks!

Nige

G..G..G..Granville.........!! Fetch your cloth.
If there are any pucks cracked now then IMO you should replace all of them rather than waiting for one to fail. Regarding alignment there is a procedure using a dial test indicator to align the coupling which uses different thicknesses of shims under the engine mounts. It's quite probably that currently the coupling could be well out of whack.

rnexus

Thanks for the advice. I will go ahead and replace them all. Is the center rubber and 2 outer metal plates all one piece?

361brock

Occupation
retired
If your referring to the plates that the pucks are bolted to, the answer is no. They are separate pieces that are splined to the shafts. If they have excessive play, they will also need to be changed. If you don't check run out with dial indicator
as Nige said, you will lose the pucks prematurely.

Nick

rnexus

Thanks for those uploads Nige and the info Nick. I've got a parts manual and a service manual, but still difficult interpreting some parts.