• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

6 way Dozer Blades

Pottypirate

Occupation
Part time operator
Hey guys. Who has or has used a dozer blade on a skid steer? Been looking at them for finish grading and using a laser with a receiver on both sides and operate the blade manually as opposed to the dear as poison other set ups like the fully auto GPS grading boxes and actual skid steer graders. Sometimes things look great but in real life don't work as well as they do in the mind. Dave's dozer has a fully auto one but it's expensive also. As an ex grader operator I see a problem if one side needs to be lifted up and you tilt the blade then on such a short blade the other side will drop and I don't imagine it's easy to maintain correct grade without a lot of corrections. Other option is just a tilting 4 in 1 with receiver each side. Anyone used the dozer blade with good results?? Or have any other ideas without spending a fortune?

CM1995

Administrator
Occupation
Running what I brung and taking what I win
If I want to run off an operator put him on a wheeled skid steer with a 6 way blade to grade a parking lot.:D

Seriously, I've had a couple friends that have tried them, a few bought them and all hated them. Basically it's worthless as tits on a boar hog on a skid or CTL - just my $.02. A regular bucket can do the same and more if one knows how to work the machine.

The grader blades with wheels out front are a totally different story for fine grading. I have the Cat box blade with full auto laser and it's a fantastic tool but it is pricey.