• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

580sl Question about removing the engine.

Doug580l

According to the service manual, I am supposed to drain the hydraulic fluid when removing the engine. Is that really necessary? I was planning on changing the fluid and filter after re-installing the engine in case any debris founds its way in during the process. I'm not experienced doing this so I am planning to follow the service manual as close as possible but this doesn't make sense to me.

Thanks,
Doug

Welder Dave

Draining the fluid means you don't have plug every single hose you have to disconnect, especially the suction line to the pump. You may have to completely remove hoses like that. How do stop from having a big mess of oil everywhere?

alrman

Occupation
Diesel Fitter;Small Business Owner;Cleaner
I was planning on changing the fluid and filter after re-installing the engine in case any debris founds its way in during the process.

Technically, the tank is lower than the hydraulic pump, so you wouldn't really need to drain it.
But, if you were going to do it during the course of the job ...... you'd drain it for the engine removal wouldn't you? :rolleyes:

Doug580l

Draining the fluid means you don't have plug every single hose you have to disconnect, especially the suction line to the pump. You may have to completely remove hoses like that. How do stop from having a big mess of oil everywhere?

Thanks for the reply,