• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

287B maintenance

estatevm

Occupation
Self imployed
Hi Again, I'm back unfortunately. Thanks to everyone that helped with my last post.

I recently took my machine to Cat to have them inspect everything and give me a list of things that need to be done (I purchased the machine used). There was a long list of things and I don't have the $ to do them all right away. But I need to start using this machine right away.

I'm hoping someone can tell me how important each one is, and if I can do any of this myself? I'm no mechanic, but maybe some of it isn't that complicated if I have the parts?

1) replace shuttle Valve
2) replace pilot control valve
3) replace throttle/accel linkage
4) repair loader frame (replace worn loader frame pins and bearing at coupler. Weld, bore and machine loader frame)
5) Replace glow plug switch
6) recommended a pm-4 service

Your help is greatly appreciated!! Thanks again

Mark250

Occupation
heavy equipment technician
Hi estatevin, could you list your s/n please and give reasons why these items are selected e.g. oil leaks, broken etc. etc.

kshansen

Occupation
Retired Mechanic in Stone Quarry
Hi estatevin, could you list your s/n please and give reasons why these items are selected e.g. oil leaks, broken etc. etc.

:iagree

Especially 1 through 3.

4 and 5 seem pretty obvious, worn pin and bushings and possible general wear. 5 Switch not working.

6 I'm guessing due to hours on machine.