• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

1990 JGL 40H boom lift Help please!

wisco

Hello forums! i am new to these lifts just bought a used one for what i think is a good deal. obviously it has some problems that i hope you guys can take the time to answer.

1. my hydo fluid is white/milky i figure its water.. How did it get in? i have no visible leaks anywere, and how do i got along changing it? ive searched for a drain plug but no dice.

2. i know its old but when engaging into forward or reverse it is very very jerky and harsh and when you stop, it stops on a dime and bounces the entire lift. also on raising it up after about 20 feet it begins to stutter going up causing the machine to bounce pretty hard back and fourth.

3. . when ever i go to use my sterring 50% of the time my left turning dosent work. you can phisiclly see its trying to move but dosent have enough juice to do it. even while moving it wont work. im not sure if its a hydo problem or electrical. like i said the fluid is whiteish yellow and low about an inch on the sight glass.

4. last question. in my controll box when i open it on the back wall of the box is a bolt with 3 black wires that split of and go places but one has what looks like a fuse,capacitor or small battery looking thing that is must of been pulled out from somewere. its the only piece that looks like this in the box.

i know its alot of questions and im thanking everyone in advanced for the help.

willie59

Administrator
Occupation
Service Manager
Welcome to the forum wisco. :usa