• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

volvo a25c vs terex 2566c

thorns

I am new to articulated rock trucks just wondering if anyone has any opinions of the pros and cons of each of the above and what about parts availability. The other one I might consider is a volvo bm861 but i have heard parts are difficult to get. any thoughts would be appreciated.

funwithfuel

Occupation
Mechanic
I can tell you that parts for the A25C are becoming scarce as well. Anything that does not have commonality with the modern/current counterpart has probably been discontinued. This goes for switches, harnesses, computers etc.
Some actuators and solenoids as well.

mowingman

Occupation
Retired
Volvo is the best choice of the two. All Volvo parts are available, but some may be hard to find. At least Volvo is still building trucks.
Terex trucks, in my opinion, were never very dependable and were not well designed to start with. Now, they don't even build them and all terex trucks are orphans, with no dealer support at all

GregsHD

Occupation
Self Employed HD Mechanic
My experience with terex: endless trans and brake issues, had no issues getting new parts but they are very expensive! Had a power divider get chewed up on a TA30, needed the pinion shaft, bearings etc. Quote was over $30k for parts!!!! Couldn't find a used diff so they parted it out. I had some good conversations with the mechanics at a large contractor in Williams Lake BC, they had a large fleet of terex artic trucks, after years of trouble and headache they sold them all and bought Cat.