1. Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Tier 4 generator load testing

Discussion in 'Generators/Gensets' started by Midnightmoon, Jan 31, 2017.

  1. Midnightmoon

    Midnightmoon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Ny
    we have some new sdg65s-8c1 generators. They have 0 load technology and regen with its own load.

    Our standard generators get load tested at 80% for 2 hours as part of the maintenance schedule.

    Our generators run far below the needed load and wet stack frequently.

    So with the new tier 4 that automatically regen should they still be load tested to clean them out?
     
  2. Birken Vogt

    Birken Vogt Charter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    978
    Location:
    Grass Valley, Ca
    I did a quick search of the 0LT. It looks like an engine water cooled heater installed in front of and below the radiator. Probably automatically switches in when actual generator workload is below specification and out when it is loaded enough by customer load on its own, when starting and stopping, etc.

    Judging by the size of it, it is not anywhere near 80%. Just enough to keep the EGTs where they need to be. Don't want it to be too big, it would waste a lot of fuel.

    http://www.mmdequipment.com/pdf/MMD-ZLT01_TSB.pdf
     
  3. Midnightmoon

    Midnightmoon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Ny
    Ran a 80% load on it today not much black snow compared to the older generators. Manufacture said it should be load tested and the heater puts a 10 kva load on the generator.
     
  4. Birken Vogt

    Birken Vogt Charter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    978
    Location:
    Grass Valley, Ca
    You said "not much" black snow....

    I take it the inside of the pipe still has some soot and not crystal clean like DPF trucks are?

    Just curious about how these new machines work.
     
  5. Midnightmoon

    Midnightmoon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Ny
    Under a 80% load test they ran pretty clean. It did spit some black soot out for 10 min or so. The older generators under a load test will spit out 2" chunks. These generators are general under very little load and run 24/7 for weeks at a time.

    The new tier 4 running under little load had a few issues. They needed to run 24/7 and when not under enough load they would just shut down when they needed to regen. If they have enough load it will just regen and run fine.

    When they don't have enough load to regen they shut down. You then have to turn the breaker off and run a manual regen. When you do this with the breaker off it activates the heater to put a 10kva load on to regen. This takes 30 to 45 min.

    If they have enough load they run great and clean.

    They really should have made it so th heater turned on automatically during regen if there wasn't enough load.

    If a contractor has generators running 24/7 in a new development for heat to dry paint and drywall. They are not to happy when they come in at 6am and find the generators shut down.

    Size the generator right and make sure it's loaded enough to regen. But the customer is always right so we run into undersizing generators all the time.
     
  6. fast_st

    fast_st Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    847
    Occupation:
    IT systems admin
    Location:
    Mass
    Sounds like you need a bit of an extra load somewhere timed to the regen cycle. Is the regen notification a light or something on a display panel.
     
  7. Midnightmoon

    Midnightmoon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Ny
    It's a light on the display. I think I know what your getting at but it's likely a circuit board tied into the onboard computer. If it doesn't sense the load it shuts down not sure if you could trick it in time. Why they don't have the option for something like this is the norm when it comes to engineering in my experience. Bottom line pick the right size generator. Don't use a 85 kva for a couple drills and a table saw. These contractors don't want units they have to fill with gas all the time. They want them to be able to run for days on one tank
     
  8. Birken Vogt

    Birken Vogt Charter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    978
    Location:
    Grass Valley, Ca
    Not to mention Tier 4 does not always equal Tier 4. When you get down into the sub 20K units, there is no DPF, DEF, or anything like that. Just a catalyst. The allowable emissions for the small stuff is much higher per horsepower hour. So the emissions is much simpler.
     
  9. fast_st

    fast_st Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    847
    Occupation:
    IT systems admin
    Location:
    Mass
    I think you have an opportunity there, a kubota driven 15k generator mounted in a sound proof enclosure with a 300 gallon tank. Make it the same size as the 85kv, cause only the box size really matters, and add twin exhaust stacks.