• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Test driveing a jd650h lgp

NZfarm

Occupation
Sheep @ beef farmer
Hi all, still looking for a dozer. going to look at a jd650h lgp with 4900hr on it any thoughts on what faults to look at . Looks very tidy from the photo's I've seen has got rippers and looks like it's been on tracking, not thrashed in the bush.

Cheers nzfarm

trainwreck

we have a 650h with narrow tracks on it, it has been the best dozer i have worked around, poor thing has almost 8000 hours of very hard life on it and is still going strong.

firetrack

trainwreck,
I have no experience with JD dozers. I have a Cat D5N LGP. What would be an equivalent size to this in a JD dozer. I have had a few other JD machines - mainly the green units(all excellent units) but have just recently purchased a yellow unit(328D) an am very happy with it so far. Only done 70hrs though.
Firetrack

RonG

Charter Member
Occupation
heavy equipment operator
I think a 750 JD would be closer in size to a D5.The D5 is quite a lot bigger than the JD 650.They are both good dozers in their respective sizes.I would not be afraid of the John Deere at all.Ron G

LDK

The 700J (great dozer) is the equivalent of a 5M or N. The 750J (good tractor) is around the same size as the 6M or N.

We run both models, our biggest let down has been dealer service and having either of them standing for a month while waiting for a simple spare part to arrive has not been uncommon. I would not go the JD route again, even though either of these dozers would out work any equivalent sized CAT dozers