• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Telescopic Boom Designs

SMP Design

Occupation
Mechanical Designer
Hi All,

First post. I come across this site while doing some researching on telescopic boom designs. I'm a mechanical designer and I am currently designing a machine that has a 3 stage telescopic boom similar to a telehandler and also has an energy chain inside the boom sections to connect hydraulic hoses and low voltage wires to an attachment on the end.

I'm tyring to find information about the different types of boom drive systems. As far as I can tell there are three different types:

1. a single double acting cylinder with a rope and pulley system

2. a single double acting cylinder with a sprocket and chain system

3. 2 off double acting cylinders diametrically opposed to each other.

Basically I have ruled out option three because it takes up too much room inside the boom sections and doesn't allow enough room for the energy chain. I know that there is a school of thought from a maintenance perspective that the energy chains should be mounted externally for ease of access however the application is a very arduous environment and so much so that the energy chain is at high risk of impact damage.

For those interested the machine is a Liner Handler used to assist with the exchanging of worn liners inside a hard rock grinding mill.