• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Mental Health in Construction Industry

anastasios

Hey guys!
I'm kind of new in the company but everything looks cool so far.

Do you think that our industry is stressful?

I found this article yesterday about mental health in construction and I was thinking about it: https://geniebelt.com/blog/mental-health-in-construction
Especially because we are in a stereotypically "alpha-male" industry, so to say, and sometimes it's a bit tough to address such things.

Thanks for your answers

old-iron-habit

Occupation
Retired Cons't. Supt./Hospitals
I have always gotten a little peeved when I hear that the big money CEO's get is because of the high stress level generated by the job. I asked a very highly paid upper manager(a good guy) at a corporate dinner one night why he felt his stress level was higher than a dish washers. I explained to him that if he got canned tomorrow he should, if he was the least bit living within his income, have enough money to live on for a long time. I then told him if the person that washed dishes for a living lost his job today he may not eat tomorrow. How could have more stress than the dishwasher. He had no argument and said he never thought of it tht way before.

92U 3406

Occupation
Wrench Bender