• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

JD 640 Hydraulics

okumaguru

I was happy to see a "Forestry" category. My family has been in the forestry/timber industry since the depression days. My grandpa started his own sawmill operation in 1947 which employed all of my family except me for years. I am actually a machinist now. They all still do it but branched off somewhat.
My younger brother is a logger in South Central Missouri. He has a 540 John Deere skidder and he just bought a John Deere 640 with a grapple. The problem is a couple of the most needed gears don't work properly,(hydrostatic transmission). The person he got it from said it worked perfectly when he bought it. He drained the fluid to fix a leak and replaced it with new fluid and that is when he lost those certain gears. The person he got it from is a very trusted friend so no questions about what he said. He said he tested the fluid pressures and found one of the pumps wasn't pumping enough pressure. He told my brother that the pump would need replaced.
My question is, is there something which could have been put in the fluid to "hide" that problem so that it wasn't evident when my brothers friend bought it or does anyone feel that something else other than the pump my be the problem. I was thinking it might be a blockage somewhere or something to that effect. I didn't think you could do much with hydraulics to hide something(like sawdust to quiet noisy gears).