• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Hein-werner c-14b Good or Bad?

jakesdad

I am a farmer looking for a cheap machine to clean up some land I just purchased. I found 1979 hein-werner c-14b looks not to bad.what should I look for? And is it hard to find parts for this machine?Also what is the horse power?And what is reasonable for this machine?

wormkiller

Occupation
IUOE Local 150
I was thinking all Hein-Werners had crane pads, no? If its in good shape, operates hiccup free for at least a 45 min. test 'drive' and has no major leaks(besides the Detroit) than i would say you have a good farm machine.
Whats a good price depends on how much work you have to do, how much repair your willing to pay for if needed and how much your saving over renting or hiring for the work.
Good luck!

Buckethead

Occupation
Operator
I was thinking all Hein-Werners had crane pads, no?

The C-14B was the later model, from the late 70s to the early 80s. They had a newer style undercarriage. They were very modern looking compared to the old C-14HDs and C-14As. The one I ran had the old HW control pattern, but I believe you could change them over to joysticks.

Mapleleaftrucks