• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Ford F-350 Utility fuel transfer tank

barklee

So i just recently bought a 2009 F-350 with a enclosed utility body. I have been driving open bodies for the last ten years and have always had a fuel tank in the back to fill up trucks and equipment. Its been one of those things i have come to not be able to live without! I am going to have to rig up something to do this. Does anyone have experience with this? Here are my requirements: Would prefer not to put in in any of the exterior accessed cabinets, would rather not mount it in the bed right behind the cab like you would in an open utility to save floor space, need at least 50 gallons and an electric pump.

I am thinking that if you did mount it on the floor right behind the cab it would be quite the challenge to get the fuel hose to where you want it and turn the thing off and on, although you could do this through the back of one of the cabinets. That would leave the problem of venting this, is that even a consideration? I think i would like to put it on the shelves on one of the sides but im not sure if they make a tank that would fit that dimension and even if they do there would still be the problems listed above.

Just brain storming at this point and i was hoping someone already did this that i could check it out and see what it looks like. I attached a pic of what the body looks like, this isnt my truck but the exact same body. ford utility.jpg

buckfever