• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Cat 935C 1989: Three Issues: Engine Noise, No Forward or Reverse, Hyd Fluid Loss

4slice

Occupation
professional
Hi all:
I'm new to heavy equipment, and bought the 935C two years ago to clear brush/dig basement/trenches on my small acreage. Finally started to use it this spring for about four hours, and issues have cropped up. Hope someone can provide advice:

Engine: Starts and runs well at idle or fast. But...there is a very loud but random sharp metallic clank that sounds like a loose piece of sheet metal is being thrown about by a rotating mass. I thought it might be some sheet metal hitting the alternator belt/pulley and being thrown about, but everything appears tight under the hood. Could it be something loose in the muffler (outside has no rust), or, I hate to suggest, something in the engine itself such as broken rings or springs? Once engine is warm, the clank seems to die off. I also noted that when working hard pushing dirt, the black exhaust seems to come out through the front rather than the stack....

Transmission: Two days ago, while pushing brush and dirt, I felt a bit of a shudder and within a few minutes there was no more forward or reverse--only a vibration in the floor pan when in gear. I was 300 ft into the bush from my staging area, and spent four hours clawing the machine backwards with the backhoe on a curvy path around big trees. I'm thinking stripped gears, but I hope someone has a less expensive diagnosis:confused: