• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Case Skidsteer fuel help needed

mx3lover

Occupation
Truck and Coach Mechanic
I have to start by saying I have never worked on a case before, my background is automotive and I am a licensed Truck and Coach mechanic. A driver at work said he has a 1980ish Case skid steer with a diesel 580 case engine which needs a fuel pump.... apparently he tried to change it but it wouldnt fire. The machine will fire with starting fluid then die, he had asked me to check it out. Is there a 580 in a skid steer? Is there a certian timing proceedure to follow when installing the pump? Any help in this matter would be appreciated, thankyou

jwith68

Probably an early 1835 or 1845 (not "C" model) with a Case D188, same engine as in a 580 or 580B loader/backhoe, and several others. Pretty conventional 4 cylinder ag diesel.

mx3lover

Occupation
Truck and Coach Mechanic
Ok, the machine is 1.5hours in the bush..... I just want to be prepared. If I install the new pump, prime the system to the injectors it should go? No timing or setting up the pump?

sheepfoot