• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Case 580B - Hydrostatic Problem

Gary N

Eureka….I feel like I just found a gold mine with this forum! I have a Case 580B that I have been using on my property for about 9 years now, and I have to say that she’s been very dependable. Except for the occasional bursting hydraulic hose, it’s just been ordinary maintenance….until now. It has a hydrostatic tranny and it appears that they were pretty rare on the 580B’s, judging by searching and reading every 580B thread I could find in this forum. Anyway, I sure hope someone can point me in the right direction on where to start so here goes………..
Here’s just a quick picture of her……
580B small.jpg

Here’s a pic of the pedal arrangement in case it helps anyone truly identify it as a hydrostatic. It doesn’t have any stick shifting, just fwd and rev pedals, and when you let off any pedal, its tranny braking. It also has a lever on the steering column that can use for higher speeds like running down the road. The pedals are real low gear....say 3-5 mph max when floored.
580B-pedals-small.jpg