• Thank you for visiting HeavyEquipmentForums.com! Our objective is to provide industry professionals a place to gather to exchange questions, answers and ideas. We welcome you to register using the "Register" icon at the top of the page. We'd appreciate any help you can offer in spreading the word of our new site. The more members that join, the bigger resource for all to enjoy. Thank you!

Best way to trench across a road

code54

I am new to excavators and am going to be putting in 2 drain pipes this weekend. I have to dig across a private gravel road (only about 2' ft deep) and was thinking of the best way to dig it.
The road is about 12' wide and tree lined (or a bank/ditch/drop off) so there is no where sit the machine if I start on one side and just keep backing up. I am using a Kubota KX91 and 12" bucket and was thinking of digging from the middle and placing the spool outside the track width then just driving over the trench in one direction and finishing the center section. bad thing is the dirt is going to be 4' from the trench and make a bigger mess.
What is the best way to handle this? Any photos would also help.
THANKS

Last edited:

Willie B

Occupation
Electrician
I try to put spoils in a truck, or I have a dozen "pans" made by splitting old 275 gallon oil tanks. To each corner of each is a 10" long piece of 5/16" chain. I use two 5/16" chains 10' long, a keyhole, and a short piece of 3/8" chain with no hooks.

The spoils go into the pans. When it's time to fill ditch, I lift the pans one at a time, swing it over the ditch, and unhook both ends of one chain. I lift, and dump it into the ditch. It works best with a helper. As for straddling the ditch, sure. Best if you have 10' sections of pipe. Crossing a 12' road, you'll want 30' of drain pipe.

Willie

melli

Yeah, I would go with Willie's suggestion...turn the boom and house so your digging beside the direction of machine travel. If ground is firm, your idea would work too...